I Would Die For You – Final Part


This is continued from the previous post.  

BJ travelled to Peru aged fourteen on a mission trip with Awe Star ministries. God had provided him with an opportunity to practise the “Freedom”drama that Awe Star teams use to share the gospel with the native people. The team he had practiced with was from his church and had included his sister.   He brought many people to Christ and returned there the following summer where the Lord laid a new call on his heart to go to North Africa and he was eagerly awaiting the following summer when he would travel there to share the gospel. Unfortunately this never eventuated. Soon after his return from Peru BJ was hospitalized with what was later to be diagnosed as suspected bubonic plague. After the setting up of the website www.prayforbj.com many members of the body of Christ prayed for him but unfortunately BJ passed away.

One statement in the book I think captured what BJ’s life was about. It was this:

I will not be satisfied.

I will not let my passion be held in a bottle.

I will not let my light be hidden.

I will stand up.

I will let my voice be heard.

I will lead, I will serve, I will fight.

I will tell people about Christ.

I will unsheathe my sword.

It’s time to raise a revolution.

God will give me strength.

BJ Higgins 1989 – 2005

This was adopted by Awe Star Ministries as it’s Global Mission Creed in 2005.

One thought on “I Would Die For You – Final Part

  1. Hi SummerSailor

    Thanks for your comments – I like the statement you have highlighted.

    I have also now finished the book. A very good read that I would recommend to others.
    I have two quotes from the book (going around in my head!) that I think sum up the book. Firstly (p194), “This young man found his identity not in his list of accomplishments, not in his admiring peers, not even in his beloved family, but in Christ alone.” Wow! I personally do believe this but it is something I constantly have to work hard at. As I finish this book I have to ask myself, “What is it that gives me my meaning and direction in life?” “What things do I let compete with Jesus that I must give less priority to?”

    Secondly (p195), “Do not be satisfied with staying the same person and doing the same mundane routine each day, but change, grow closer to God and move deeper than ankle deep in him every day you live, for it may very well be your last.” SummerSailor, what a challenge BJ gives to us! As I finish this book I have to ask myself, “What practical steps do I take that help me grow closer to Jesus?” Some Bible verses kept coming into my mind as I read this book. They are from Matthew 6:19-21, “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

    Thanks for mentioning this book on your blog. I have really appreciated it.

    Take Care
    Mr H

Leave a Reply

