Fly Tying


Recently I have started Tying my own fly fishing flies and have had some success. I bought a box of feathers and fur off Trade Me and found some hooks an started off with a few of my own designs. They are not your average bought fly but amateur designs. They may not have cost the much money at all but a little time was all it took to fool one tiny rainbow trout on the Waihou River to take my fly. Amazing what you can achieve for a few cents!!! Here is a picture of some flies I have made (sorry about the quality):Flies

2 thoughts on “Fly Tying

  1. SS, your effort, skill and care have been rewarded! It was great to witness the taking of the first fish on your very own fly. Well done….I wonder if the fish in the lake will find your efforts as enticing?

Leave a Reply

